Kitty-Land Adventures

Today while watching the kittens have been such a joy. They have such spunk and all have their own specific playful attitude. The calico and black kittens have certainly bonded with me the most. Especially the calico, she loves to sit on any part of my lap and just be with me. She’s so content with just relaxing, and loves to watch my every move.

I know I’m really going to miss her once she’s been admitted to the animal shelter(along with her siblings). I’ll of course miss all the other kittens, but I’ll miss these two the most. I really love how accepting and trusting Little Sister is with me with her kittens, She doesn’t mind it at all when they’re crawling either all over my lap or my legs when I’m sitting on the grassy patches. She’s been absolutely wonderful with me. Sometimes I wonder how I managed to do it, to have he gain my trust(and vice versa). I try to go back in time to remember everything, how I got her to be close enough for me to touch her, and then close enough for me to pet he for minutes at a time. It feels like I’ve witnessed miracle after miracle and now I’ve become in awe of her.

This late afternoon, early evening, I decided to take my pen and notebook into my backyard, lounge in the grass and just write. As soon as I started to lay down and write, my two favorite kittens run toward me and use me as their own personal perch and soak up the warm while sitting either on my hips or on my legs. Soon after the 3 other kittens followed suit and cuddled up all around me. About ten minutes or so later, Little Sister comes by, chirps hello to me, and then lays down about 5-10 feet away from me. She was perfectly content having her own time to herself and not have to worry about her babies. Five minutes go by when she walked about 10 feet(give or take) and laid down behind me and begins to nurse the kittens who flocked to her calling.

For a good five minutes, the grey tux kitten slept in a corner of my legs. Then he decided he was hungry and went in for a light feeding from his momma. Less than a minute later, Miss little calico took his place. I’ve noticed with her, she loves to sleep in little corners and is so perfectly happy. I then feel a slight tug at my pj bottoms string, I look down and there is the very cute black kitten and he makes himself at home at the top of my chest until he begins to slip down from being so deep in slumber, he fits perfectly in the crook of my neck.

After Little Sister finished her feeding time, she walked back around me and placed herself 5-10 feet away from me, she looked so happy and relaxed knowing her babies are safe and secure with me around. All the while, I’ve now got all of the kittens sleeping either next or on legs, or hips, or in any little crooks they manage to find while I’m still laying down. Feeling their tiny paws kneading my pants is both amusing and enduring  as they are tickling every part of my legs and feet. With every passing minute I’m falling deeper and deeper, and madly in love with every single one of them. It will be a sad day to see all of them go.

But the great perk about being a cat socializer volunteer is that once they are mature and healthy, I’ll be able to see them grow and help them get adopted to wonderful and deserving families. Since Little Sister is still nursing them, I’m thinking it’ll be another week or two(hopefully less than two weeks!!) until they are properly weened off from her. My ultimate plan/goal is to get Little Sister first so she can get spayed, and then get the kittens to the animal shelter soon after. Until that time comes, I’m going to soak up as much love and attention like a sponge, for as long as possible.

Too cute!!
Image

Me & Miss Calico
Image

Me & my fave boy
Image

The cutest boy!!
Image

Leave a comment